Finger Lickin’…huh?

KFC Finger Licking good

KFC Hong Kong is getting literal about its famous slogan, “It’s finger-lickin’ good!”

The BBC reports that the chain’s agency, Ogilvy and Mather Hong Kong came up with a promotional edible nail polish that tastes (or is intended to taste) like two flavours of the famous fried chicken: original and hot & spicy. The polish is not available commercially; for now, it is only being distributed to media outlets to generate attention.

Is this an effective promotion? Among the considerations the restaurant chain and its agency need to take into account:

  • consumers can’t participate, it was distributed to media only
  • what impact does (or doesn’t) extensive press have? Can the results of this promotion be measured?
  • does it make sense to make a non-edible category temporarily edible? What is the result?
  • what cultural assumptions are taken for granted by the promotion?
  • who is missed in this promotion?

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-36220142

…and what do you make of the video released to Youtube?

 

4 thoughts on “Finger Lickin’…huh?

  1. Amy Lau

    I think this promotion in the sense that it is something out of the box and different. As a result, it is bound to generate attention, even more so due to the fact that KFC is behind it. I think the video released to Youtube is very interesting. As someone who is a dancer and interested in the arts I thought the ad would definitely attract fellow dance enthusiasts and potentially a younger artist. However, I am not sure it is that effective in promoting the product. Although they showed the nailpolish on the male dancer, they did not show off the edible nature of the product until about a minute into the advertisement. By then some consumers may have stopped paying attention to the advertisement.

    Reply
    1. Paige O'Grady

      Amy Lau – I agree with you on the ineffectiveness of the video. I personally turned it off at the 0:22 second mark, so I don’t think it is doing a good job of promoting the product it is intended to.

      Overall, I think it’s just another stunt that’s come to be expected with KFC. As we talked about in class, KFC is getting weirder and weirder, potentially as they desperately try to win over the young and unknown millennial demographic (and I guess they just presume we are all a little odd?). I’m not surprised at the campaign, but I definitely couldn’t have predicted it. At this point, I think there is either a master plan behind KFC’s madness, or they are grasping at strings. Too bad about the nail polish going bad though!

      Reply
  2. Royce Mok

    While I do agree that it would generate lots of interest, I do not think that the campaign is very effective. I feel that the non-edible category of nail polish clashes greatly with my perception of KFC. For one, I associate toxic chemicals with nail polish which I would definitely wouldn’t want to consume. Second, I associate a particular negative fume with nail polish that makes me sick which conflicts with the nice KFC smell that I associate with their chicken. I know that I wouldn’t want my chicken to smell or taste anything like nail polish.

    Reply
  3. Jacquelynn Cort

    I don’t think it makes sense for a nail polish to be edible. KFC was trying to associate their brand with nail polish since consumers in Hong Kong place high priority on beauty products. However, these two products don’t make sense together. As Royce stated, nail polish is a toxic product. As a child you are taught to be extremely careful with nail polish avoiding getting it anywhere and definitely not putting it close to your mouth. It is also not appetizing that the product expires. If you put the nail polish on your fingers and then two days later the bottle turned to a different color, I doubt you’ll still be licking your fingers. It isn’t a practical product at all.

    This nail polish has got people talking about KFC again. However, there are mixed reviews. Many people are grossed out by the product which doesn’t reflect well on the brand. As discussed in class previously KFC has had issues in North America trying to rebrand KFC in an attempt to make them current again. It doesn’t surprise me that KFC is missing the mark in Hong Kong as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

