You know an ingredient is popular when…

sriracha beer Rogue

This is the beer I mentioned in class, a product of Oregon-based Rogue Beer. I did not buy it, so I can’t say if it’s deliciously spicy, or just strange.

Does the beer “steal” too much from its source? Or does it provide important brand and product associations? Do we forgive the “Rogue” version because it’s an independent, craft beer–and it’s going rogue–or is it appropriating another brand’s identity?

rooster-sriracha-taste-test-huy-fong

http://www.rogue.com

10 thoughts on “You know an ingredient is popular when…

  1. Amy Lau

    I feel that the beer does steal too much from the source. The packaging of the product is near identical to that of a bottle of Sriracha and if I were to see something similar in store I would automatically associate the product with the Sriracha, not ROGUE. I think that in this case there is not necessarily any important brand/product associations, as Sriracha is typically associated as a Spicy Asian Condiment,which does not translate well when it comes to beer. I had seen a video on youtube where a well known channel taste tests this beer and other sriracha flavoured snacks. https://youtu.be/0BnQkbSmwtw?t=479 They do not ever mention the brand of beer, more so the type of beer and the fact that it is Sriracha (as well as the fact that the taste is not pleasant).

    Also on a sidenote the Winners @ Conestoga Mall as well as other Winners locations are now selling http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/91Ghbv6jxoL._SL1500_.jpg Sriracha Popcorn that is designed in similar packaging of the sriracha bottle in case anyone is interested.

    Reply
  2. Drew Padovan

    As a person who loves hot sauce and beer, I am completely turned off by Rogue’s packaging and association with Siracha. I feel as if this is co-branding gone wrong, and is a gimmick that will generate only minimal sales from the odd Siracha “fanatic” or evangelist. Perhaps the beer tastes great, however as a beer drinker I do not exactly want my beverage as spicy as Siracha. There has got to be a better way for Rogue to market their product to the end consumer. I am confused at to what the target market would be on this product, as the packaging confuses me in this regard. I’m interested to see how this marketing ploy goes, and will have to look it up in the future.

    Reply
  3. Adam Fisher

    I believe the introduction of this beer does not match well with the associations consumers have with the original Siracha sauce. The product categories are very different and do not complement each other potentially confusing the consumer on what message the company is trying to send with this brand. Additionally, even if the product does peak the interest of some consumers selling it in a 750ml bottle is not likely to be successful as some people may want to try it but will not want to pay for what is basically equal to two beers just to try the taste. Drew brings up a good point about the potential target market as most beer drinkers consume beer for the unique taste it offers, who to promote the product to is a very important concern. The change rogue introduces is not likely to be received well by the beer drinking community as it vastly different than preferred brands on the market.

    Reply
  4. Mallory Fantham

    While I love this idea at first glance, if you think about actually buying it, I don’t think the attention that the brand grabs will translate into sales for the company.
    The reasoning behind why I first thought this was a great idea is because there are people who are obsessed with Sriracha sauce and will literally have it on everything, and so these are the people who I thought would buy this beer.
    However, while these individuals may love it as a topping, it’s hard to get around the idea of literally drinking something out of a bottle like that. I feel like if it were me, I’d wince everytime I go to take a sip because I’d be expecting a burning feeling after a tiny sip, as would happen with Sriracha.
    I also think that while some individuals would maybe buy this once or twice, I don’t see it as a sustainable product in someone’s consideration set. Therefore, I think the brand should stick to hot sauce and if it’s looking for a brand extension, it should think about other topping products, such as Sriracha Ketchup (I wouldn’t love this but maybe some would?)

    Reply
  5. joelleleung

    I think this co-branding initiative is very interesting. Sriracha is such a popular hot sauce brand and has a large customer base, I think the co-branding initiative can generate buzzes and gain attentions from consumers to attract them to learn more about the products.

    In a way, I don’t think the idea of “spicy beer” is too weird. It reminds me of another spicy flavoured alcohol – the Caesar, which is made of hot sauce, Clamato and Vodka.

    Maybe some consumers are afraid to try the product but I also think there are consumers who always like to try new things would have this product on their to-try-lists. This might not guarantee consistent sales on the product but if the beer actually taste good, I think it will be able to create a customer base and use WOM to gain more sales.

    Reply
  6. Royce Mok

    I think that the beer has stolen too much from the original source which is Sriracha. The co-branding strategy in my opinion seems to be conflicting as I have always thought about Sriracha as a spicy sauce and not something that I would ever associate with beer. Also, the beer design seems to be entirely based off of Sriracha and doesn’t have any unique features that tell you that it comes from the “Rogue” brand other than its name. I am also confused about who the target market is for this beer as it seems to be only attracting novelty seeking consumers and seems to be more of a gimmick to those consumers than actually building up any brand reputation.

    Reply
  7. Paul Viggiano

    I have to agree with the others that the beer steals too much from it’s source. Any consumer that are seeing or purchasing this product are only picturing the Siracha sauce. They may even believe that Siracha is producing it’s own beer. This move seems great by a Siracha brand extension point but the Rogue company is really missing out on brand equity.

    Reply
  8. Rida Nasim

    As a consumer and fan of the sriracha hot sauce, I think Rogue is appropriating another brand’s identity and stealing too much from the source. If on the packaging, I didn’t read beer, I would’ve automatically wondered why the hot sauce is in the shape of a beer package. The packaging of the product is identical to sriracha; same shade of red, the rooster and wording is placed similarly. Beer and hot sauce are 2 products that are not complementary. I don’t think of beer when I think of hot sauce and so, I would have a negative image and perception of Rogue. Rogue might think that consumers of sriracha might purchase the beer but I would not purchase the product even though I am a huge fan of sriracha. The association of hot sauce and beer does not fit well with me.

    Reply
  9. Gillian Geremia

    The beer Rogue is building an association off of Siracha but it has a similar target so it is a smart move. The brand is unfamiliar to me but by looking at site it appears to be popular in the states. It is unlikely that such a large brand as Siracha would associate with another brand that does not have its own reputation. Since they are in two very different categories this association makes sense as they are not competitors but would ideally compliment each other well.

    Reply
  10. Jacquelynn Cort

    In my opinion, this does not provide appropriate brand or product associations. Firstly, I think it is just a weird combination of products- beer and hot sauce. It seems like something someone would dare someone to do because it just wouldn’t taste good. I usually associate vodka and hot sauce together because of Caesars. Thus, I think it would have been more appropriate for Smirnoff to co-brand with Sriracha. However I have never tried it so I won’t judge it too quickly.

    The packaging of the product resembles too much the Sriracha sauce bottle. The Rogue brand is not easily identifiable and doesn’t even remotely resemble their regular beer bottle packaging. Thus, even if you love the Rogue beers, you most likely won’t even recognize the brand in store shelves. Consumers who notice the product are the Sriracha lovers, who still may not even be willing to try it in beer.

    Rogue has a sort of fearless, cocky brand personality as seen in “Rogue’s Fundamental Agreement” with the two statements:

    STATEMENT #5
    Go to the front of the fight and stay there.
    STATEMENT #6
    And most important, cut out all the B.S.

    http://www.rogue.com/rogueabout/

    I can see why Rogue thought their brand personality and spicy attitude would align with Sriracha sauce. However, at the end of the day if the product doesn’t taste good, consumers aren’t going to purchase the product.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

